Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

September 10th, 2016 11:00

How do I stop the "volume meter" bar from briefly appearing on my Dell 7559?

When my Dell Windows 10 laptop wakes up from sleep, restarts and reboots.....I get the small what I'll call blue VOLUME METER or VOLUME BAR appearing momentarily in the upper left of my screen.  It displays what I have my volume control set at set at (0-100)  

This volume bar goes away after a few seconds.  It's not a big deal and I can certainly live with it, but if there is a setting I can tweak to remove it, I would like to do that as I don't need constant reminders of my volume setting and I use the "sleep mode" often during the day.    

As I'm relatively new to Windows 10, I'm not sure if this is an Operating System thing or a Dell thing, so I'll start in this forum.  Have any of you resolved this on your Dell?   Thanks! 

5 Posts

March 1st, 2020 23:00

Hi @birchlake !

Have you solved this?

@nyc10036 shared an effective solution:  

https://www.howtogeek.com/269011/how-to-hide-the-volume-pop-up-display-on-windows-8-and-10/

Sharing this with you too. God bless!

• 

16.9K Posts

September 12th, 2016 05:00

birchlake,

You can turn off notifications from these apps by heading to Settings app > System > Notifications. Just use the toggle under “Show app notifications” and turn it off. This should disable all notifications including Sounds from installed Windows Store apps. There are apps which send sound notifications with banners which land in to Action Center. To completely disable all notification sounds for all the apps, move the slider for Show app notifications to the Off position.

33 Posts

September 12th, 2016 06:00

Thanks for the reply Jesse.