Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

A

March 7th, 2006 16:00

Google software malfunction

Just received D510 notebook with bundled Google software. But, whenever I click the Internet Explorer icon to go online, the system defaults to Google page and the Google page will not allow me to connect to the Web. How do I work around this software problem?

March 8th, 2006 22:00

I don't have Google software but you may be able to change what it does in Google options,preferences, or what ever they call it.  Are you certain that you need Google Software?  It can be very invasive and may possibly compromise security.  Most of us live happily without it.

7 Posts

March 9th, 2006 00:00

I really don't want Google. It came with my Dell and I hate it. Thanks for your advice, but can you be more specific about your comments? Are you telling me how to wipe Google? I'm really a novice at this.

March 9th, 2006 01:00

To remove Google, go to Control Panel and select Add Subtract Programs.  Find Google in the list and left click on it to highlight it.  Then on the right you will see a button, change/remove.  Click this and remove Google.  Close the add remove and control panel. You will still be able to use the search function by accessing Google on line at www.google.com.

7 Posts

March 10th, 2006 00:00

Thanks. I've got my goggles and gloves, and am poised to uninstall Google.

2 Intern

• 

5.8K Posts

March 10th, 2006 01:00

Avie;

Just out of interest, I'm seeing a lot of complaints about redirects in IE to Dell-associated google boards. Could you list whatever Google programs came pre-installed on your system? Specifically, did yours come with Google AFE?

7 Posts

March 10th, 2006 13:00

joe53: