Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

November 8th, 2006 21:00

Avira Antivirus

Hey everyone, I just recently purchased an Inspiron 6400 and it came with Mcafee Antivirus, I never acknowledged the messages that were popping up because I was just gonna uninstall and get AVG.  Then a few days ago Avira Antivirus popped up and was asking if I'd like to scan my laptop.  I was confused because I had never downloaded that program and when I looked for Mcafee, it's not under programs, it was remvoved from the menu bar and nowhere to be found.  I thought it was kind of weird, anyone ever experience this or know what's going on?  I'm a newbie so please be easy on me!  Thanks...

3 Apprentice

• 

15.3K Posts

November 8th, 2006 21:00

Avira offers a legitimate anti-virus product, named AntiVir.

going on a "hunch" here:  does anyone else have access to your machine? ---
if so, is it possible that they downloaded/installed AntiVir, and removed the McAfee??

2 Posts

November 9th, 2006 01:00

I'm the only one using the computer, my mom doesn't even know how to turn it on!  I thought someone hacked into my system and gave me a virus making me think Avira was legit, but that's me being paranoid.  It's just bugging me that it was installed but I didn't do it and also the Mcafee disappearing.  Does anyone know if Dell supplies Avira Antivirus with their systems?  Any help appreciated, thanks.

3 Apprentice

• 

15.3K Posts

November 9th, 2006 13:00

I suggest you generate and post a HiJackThis log, per directions below.   This may show us what's going on with your system... if McAfee is truly gone... if AntiVir has in fact been installed:

Download a self-extracting copy of the latest version of HJT (HiJackThis) (version 1.99.1) from
Save it to your Desktop.
Double-click on the file    hijackthis_sfx.exe    file, and allow it to self-extract [by clicking on UnZip] into the suggested/default folder,
C:\Program Files\HijackThis