Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

June 14th, 2005 23:00

How do I know my network is secure?

I just got my 600m today with a 2915 card and a Dell 2350 router.  I set up everything like the wizard showed me.  However, I don't really know that my network is secure and that no one else outside of my home can access it.  I chose to set up a secure network with the wizard when i was prompted to but how do I really know that it is secure?

158 Posts

June 15th, 2005 01:00

if you can access your network without a password(key) then is not secure

11 Posts

June 15th, 2005 02:00

Umm, how do I know wether or not I have a password to access the network?  You have to excuse me I am new to this whole game.

4 Operator

• 

20.1K Posts

June 15th, 2005 02:00

12K Posts

June 15th, 2005 12:00

Unplug it, turn it off, and bury it in a concrete vault 200 feet below ground.  It is now reasonably secure.

No network is secure, especially a wireless one, however, if you turn off SSID broadcasting, enable WPA, and enforce MAC filtering you have just eliminated yourself from the low hanging fruit crowd.

12K Posts

June 15th, 2005 16:00

http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,4149,1277020,00.asp

The above article is a good one, but basically it sounds like you don't ahve the correct SSID name or password.

11 Posts

June 15th, 2005 16:00

Well, how do you do all of that.  Also, if I use the Intel/pro wireless connection to connect to the internt it will not let me.  It shows that I have excellent signal quaility but I cannot get online.

7.9K Posts

June 15th, 2005 22:00

some general points:  once your router is online, click start, click control panel, click classic view, double click network connections.  from there right-click your wireless network adapter and click view avialable networks.  your wireless network's SSID name should show up (other people's networks may show as well).  it will say the security level.