Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

18 Posts

January 18th, 2006 20:00

New to Dell--How do I open my laptop

I am new to Dell and to owning a laptop. I just received my Inspiron 9300 laptop today.  I cannot get the lid open--Please help me.  I have pushed the lever to the right but the lid will only open a little.  Please--I would appreciate any help I can get.
Thank,
Sue in Wyoming

11.9K Posts

January 18th, 2006 20:00

@wyosue wrote:
I am new to Dell and to owning a laptop. I just received my Inspiron 9300 laptop today.  I cannot get the lid open--Please help me.  I have pushed the lever to the right but the lid will only open a little.  Please--I would appreciate any help I can get.
Thank,
Sue in Wyoming

You slide the latch over and pull the lid up.

11.9K Posts

January 19th, 2006 00:00

@wyosue wrote:

Rick--I am trying to do that but the lid still will not open but just about an inch. Is there something they use to lock it for shipping?

Thanks,

Sue in Wyoming

Nope.

127 Posts

Hello Sue

If you are having to use alot of force to open the lid I would say there is something wrong with it. When you slide the latch to the right it should pop open alittle then lift up easily, push from the center of the lid to avoid twisting it. Only thing I would suggest is chatting with support, that way if it happens to snap or something atleast they know it wasn't your fault.

Hope that helps

18 Posts

Rick--I am trying to do that but the lid still will not open but just about an inch. Is there something they use to lock it for shipping?

Thanks,

Sue in Wyoming

18 Posts

Do you have any suggestions? 

Sue

18 Posts

January 19th, 2006 01:00