Start a Conversation

This post is more than 5 years old

Solved!

Go to Solution

April 11th, 2013 20:00

DisplayPort, Auto-detect, & Windows 7

I've been using a Dell u2410 for a few years now and I love it.  Recently however I've started using DisplayPort in a multi-monitor configuration, and every time I go to a different input on my main monitor for something like a gaming console for example, Windows will assume the monitor has been unplugged and jam all of the windows I had open onto the other remaining monitor.  It even goes so far as to move around stuff that's just hanging out on my second monitor that should have no reason to move.

There have been multiple threads and discussions about this problem, with seemingly no suitable response.  So I'm here looking to see if there's anything that can be done.

Is there some type of setup I can do with the monitor so it doesn't utilize the autodetect functionality of the DisplayPort and HDMI connections?  Is there an option or setting for it?  If not, why?
There must surely be some way to overcome this horrible problem.  Perhaps some custom-made software to disable the autodetect on the Windows end of things?  Some simple hardware hack I could perform on the monitor?  I know some people have successfully bypassed this issue by modifying their cable to remove the one lead that makes this "feature" function.  I'd rather avoid that at all costs, and to be honest it seems like a fairly bogus solution to a problem that shouldn't exist.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, as I know there are tons of other people out there with this similar issue.