Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

April 15th, 2015 04:00

Please offer US keyboard layouts outside the US

Hello!

I'm a Debian Developer and recently stumbled across the Dell XPS 13 Developer Edition and was about to buy the laptop today as both the price tag and the specs convinced me to get it as a replacement for my old IBM ThinkPad T60.

However, upon closer inspection of the item's listing, I found that these laptops are sold with domestic keyboard layouts only which for me means, a German keyboard layout.

Dell might not be aware of this, but a large group of developers actually prefer US keyboard layouts - even outside the US - simply because many international keyboard layouts like the German or French one are less comfortable to use when writing code (e.g., the braces are harder to access and so on).

So, if anyone at Dell actually cares about a laptop sold with the "Developer Edition" tag, Dell should also provide this laptop with a US keyboard layout outside the US. Apple has been doing this for years now, so I am a bit puzzled that Dell, who primarily target businesses, can't offer the same.

Pity, would have almost ordered that gorgeous XPS 13 Developer Edition today.

Cheers,

Adrian

7 Technologist

• 

538 Posts

April 15th, 2015 07:00

Hi Adrian,

I will pass this feedback along.  Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

2 Posts

April 17th, 2015 11:00

+1 for this!

Some EU layouts are very inconvenient when it comes to coding: for example, on an Italian keyboard you have to press a combination of 3 keys to get curly brackets.

I've switched to US keyboards on my desktop PC and it would be nice to have this option on the XPS13 as well.

Thanks for hearing our feedback!

3 Posts

April 17th, 2015 12:00

Hey,