Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

Closed

S

5 Posts

April 21st, 2004 19:00

An orange Light keeps on blinking!

Hi, I'm new to this forum, and i'm not that good with computers, but just starting yesterday, there has been this orange light that constantly blinks on my INSPIRON 8500by the battery symbol with a plus inside of it.  And i took out the AC adaptar cord, and when i did my computer turned off because the battery had no power.  I'm assuming that it is no longer charging, and i took the battery out and put it back in to see if the connection was off, but i still get the same results.  If anyone knows what to do, i would greatly appreciate it, because i like to travel with my laptop, and this is preventing me from doing so.

Thank You,

Shadow

53 Posts

April 21st, 2004 20:00

This has happened to me twice over the past few years, the first time was because my battery was simply dead and needed replacing, however the second time I thought it was the same problem but it was just a bad connection.

First turn off the computer and take out the battery. There is a self-test button on the battery that will light up several green lights when pushed if the battery is ok. If that is ok, blow out any dust in the battery compartment and make sure the connections are clean and push the battery FIRMLY back into the compartment. After I gave it a good solid push back in and powered up, the orange light went away and it's been fine for months now.

Give that a go, but normally though the orange light when on AC power means you need a new battery, especially if the self-test button doesn't show a healthy battery. And unfortunately those things aren't cheap!

5 Posts

April 21st, 2004 22:00

thanks for the quick responce!  i'll try that now!

shadow

4 Posts

April 21st, 2004 23:00