Start a Conversation

Solved!

Go to Solution

October 9th, 2020 09:00

Microphone cuts in and out when using Zoom - tech support unable to help. HELP

I bought my XPS13 last month for work which I will largely be doing over Zoom as I'm WFH for the forseeable. When I use Zoom other users can barely hear me, my voice is very quiet and cuts in and out throughout the call. 

I've checked the mic and it works fine, installed all the latest updates and drivers, and performed a hardware diagnostics check. I've spoken to Dell tech support and they can't help, and say if it's a software issue rather than a hardware issue my warranty is invalid. 

I spent a lot of money on this machine and can't currently use it for the main chunk of my work. I wanted to splash out on a top of the range laptop to avoid these kind of issues, I'm not good at tech-speak and when I search online it seems like a lot of Dell users are having the same problem but I have no idea how to fix it. Argh. Please somebody help me. 

1 Message

August 25th, 2021 07:00

This worked for me:  In Zoom, go to Settings--> Audio --> Advanced. Turn Signal processing by Windows audio device drivers to Off (Windows-Raw).

Audio.JPG

• 

16.9K Posts

February 1st, 2022 07:00

iam.pringles,

Reduce the microphone volume to 33% and then check by recording a sound clip. Also, all the conferencing Apps have their own microphone input controls please check the same as well. The microphone volume inversely affects the output.

• 

25.5K Posts

October 9th, 2020 10:00

Thank you! We have received the required details. We will work towards a resolution via private messages to ensure the security of your information. In the meanwhile, you may receive assistance or suggestions from the community members as well.

November 26th, 2020 01:00

Hi,

Was this resolved as I have a user with the same issue? Can you let me know what was required?

Thanks

Neil

2 Posts

December 3rd, 2020 20:00