Start a Conversation

Unsolved

This post is more than 5 years old

February 13th, 2006 20:00

Installing a Belkin Wireless Modem/Router with USB Network Adapter for broadband use

I'm confused - what is the Broadcom Gigabite controller installed on my Dimension 8400 PC, is it causing the problems I'm having installing my new hardware?

Yes, I'm a computer novice as you can tell!

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

28K Posts

February 13th, 2006 21:00

The the Broadcom Gigabite controller is an ethernet network controller that can connect at speeds of 1000 Mbps, 100 Mbps, and 10 Mbps.  It will only connect at the higher speeds if the device your are connecting to is also rated for that speed.

Steve

57 Posts

February 14th, 2006 15:00

Yes but - I am attempting to set up a wireless network but my ADSL modem/router will not "find" an available network (I do not have an etherrnet cable to physically connect my PC to the modem router).  Steady green lights indicating power supply are all that is indicated on my router/modem.  Should I disable the Broadcom item?  I'm sorry for my lack of understanding and knowledge of what I'm attempting to do; I've contacted Belkin support but as yet they have not been able to sort out the problem.  Calls to Belkin technical support are hampered by a poor line to India (I'm in the UK), making it extremely difficult for me to hear what I am being advised to do.

28K Posts

February 14th, 2006 16:00

It is very unclear what you are have and what you are trying to do.  Is the Belkin Wireless Modem/Router a single unit, or do you have a separate dsl modem and wireless router?  Are you attempting to connect more than one computer to internet or is your intention to just connect one computer by wireless?  Please try to explain this better and we can go from there.

Steve

57 Posts

February 14th, 2006 17:00

Thanks for your speedy reply.