Start a Conversation

Unsolved

H

2 Posts

May 11th, 2020 18:00

Inspiron 5680 CPU cooling fan not recognized

So I recently decided to upgrade the CPU cooler on my Inspiron 5680, as my i7 8700 would get up to temps of 80C and above frequently, even under moderate loads. (disclaimer here - I am pretty new to PCs, so my knowledge is somewhat limited).

I installed a Cooler Master Hyper Evo 212. Mostly everything with the install went seamless (other than removing the entire motherboard to get the backplate on, ugh); but plugged the Master Cooler into the 4 pin CPU fan slot on the MOBO, and thought I was good to go. 

Booted up, and the Cooler Master fan is definitely running, but the computer doesn't seem to recognize it at all. The fan just runs at full speed always. I've downloaded Speedfan, Argus monitoring, and went to the BIOS, and the CPU fan doesn't show up anywhere. This is a little annoying to me. I'd prefer if the fan didn't run at full speed at all times if it doesn't need to.

Has anyone else experienced similar problems when installing a third party CPU cooler on a dell motherboard? Anyone know a fix? 

Thanks!

7 Technologist

• 

10.9K Posts

May 11th, 2020 21:00

Something wrong with this PWM fan?  If fan is not recognized but spins, sounds like it had power but no rotation speed feedback to motherboard.  If possible I would test heatsink fan in another pc to verify PWM works (that you did not get a faulty one), assuming the original stock cpu fan was recognized by 5680 and rotation speed was adjustable.

7 Technologist

• 

10.9K Posts

May 12th, 2020 20:00

what about the original stock heat sink fan?  if you plug that one in the cpu fan header does your board read back fan speed in HWMonitor or speedfan app?

May 12th, 2020 20:00